Reflections, part two

On September 18th, 2005, I wrote about the Accelerating Change 2005 conference that I’d attended in Stanford University. It was eye opening in many ways, and I think that it truly triggered thoughts in me that led to where I’m at now with my thoughts and my work. Here is what I asked that day,

What then would best explain the separation that worked based on information science in terms of frameworks for planning?

I’d even been interviewed as part of the Pew Internet survey done by Elon University on the future of the internet. I’d said something to the effect of new business models must be developed in order to best leveraged the true power of collaborative intelligence, and as Scott Rafer says, the mobile web and social networking and the 2.0oooey thing going around are an opportunity to effect genuine change for those as the bottom of the pyramid and elsewhere in emerging markets.

What I’d posted from foreign policy blog about the mobile as a tool for socioeconomic development at the bottom of the pyramid, every data point seemed to lead to something, when I recalled I’d met Kevin Kelly at the conference too, and something made me go over to this article he presciently wrote just before the conference in fall 2005. Here’s a snippet,

I believed him. Despite his quirks, it was clear to me that a
hyperlinked world was inevitable – someday. But looking back now, after
10 years of living online, what surprises me about the genesis of the
Web is how much was missing from Vannevar Bush’s vision, Nelson’s
docuverse, and my own expectations. We all missed the big story. The
revolution launched by Netscape’s IPO was only marginally about
hypertext and human knowledge. At its heart was a new kind of
participation that has since developed into an emerging culture based
on sharing. And the ways of participating unleashed by hyperlinks are
creating a new type of thinking – part human and part machine – found
nowhere else on the planet or in history.

Not only did we fail to imagine what the Web would become, we still
don’t see it today! We are blind to the miracle it has blossomed into.
And as a result of ignoring what the Web really is, we are likely to
miss what it will grow into over the next 10 years. Any hope of
discerning the state of the Web in 2015 requires that we own up to how
wrong we were 10 years ago.

Kelly’s words ring even truer today. Now to mash up Kelly’s thoughts with Rafer’s, you get the words mobile web, collaborative intelligence and a new type of thinking – part human [design, right brain] and part machine [mr spock anyone?], aka whole brain, left, right, design thinking fuzzy whathave you etc.

This entry was posted in Design, Strategy. Bookmark the permalink.